Manual Typewriter

I mentioned that I use a manual typewriter for typing the pages going in to “the red notebook”.  Well, here it is; a Hermes 3000 typewriter.  I might be older than the typewriter, but I’m not certain.typewriter

During one “university term paper season” my Smith Corona electric typewriter quit working and the repairman said it would take a couple of weeks to get it fixed.  The school library had at least 100 IBM Selectric typewriters, but they were in such high demand that a 1 hour time limit per session was put in place so that everyone could get a chance to use them.

I didn’t like the idea of waiting three or four hours for one hour of time on the typewriter and I didn’t want to steal time from my girlfriend’s typing sessions by using her typewriter, so I bought this Hermes for something like $10.

The electric typewriter is long gone, but I kept the manual one.

Absent some compelling reason, if you have electricity, skip the electric typewriter and use a computer and printer.

So, I guess it is true that an electric typewriter is more obsolete than a manual one.

Or perhaps it is not a manual typewriter but actually a highly energy efficient portable word processor with an integrated printer and a 100% effective anti-malware system.

Leave a Reply

