Doctors, Nurse Practitioners and Clinical Training

I had my first annual medical physical exam.

All was good except for my vitamin D .  It is supposed to be between 30 and 100 (unknown units). Mine is under 10.

The only other unusual thing was that a nurse practitioner in training was in the office that day and I was asked if I would mind helping the nurse practitioner get some needed clinical time by getting  a 2nd exam from the nurse nurse practitioner.   “I will be glad to help.” was my response.  Since my mom was a nurse practitioner and my fiancee had been accepted to med school, I knew this was important.

So, the doctor gave me a *complete* exam, describing what she was doing and what she was expecting to find

This was then followed up by a duplicate exam by the nurse practitioner, with the NP describing what she was doing and what she was finding.

Any older guys will know what a complete physical exam entails…oops..I guess I should have said “includes”…sorry

It  was good to be able to be of service to the medical community….no..that doesn’t sound right either….”It was good to be able to provide an educational opportunity to the medical community.”

There…that’s better.

Leave a Reply

