Salt

I have a complicated love affair with salt.

I have Applewood Smoked Sea Salt, Fleur de Sel, Alder Smoked Sea Salt, Lime Fresco Sea Salt, Hickory Smoked Sea Salt, Oak Smoked Sea Salt, Brazilian Sea Salt, Mediterranean Sea Salt, plain pickling salt, table salt, some sort of pink sea salt that I hope is not from New York Harbor, salt from Australia, salt from Amboy, California and too many seasoned salts to name.

Each salt has it’s own flavors and I’m still figuring out what goes well with which dish.

What makes the salt love affair complicated is my high blood pressure.  My brother and I are both being treated for it.  My dad, his dad and *all* of my dad’s siblings had high blood pressure.  So, I’m guessing it’s one of those things that “runs in the family”.

I don’t think it had much of an effect on their lives though.  My dad died in his early 90s.  His dad and all of my dad’s siblings all lived into their late 90s and early 100s.

Still, I take my blood pressure pill, limit my intake of the oh so lovely tasting salt and I exercise a lot.

One thought on “Salt

Leave a Reply

