The Power of a First Love

My first love.  I met her in college in early 1980.   In March of 1983, while sitting in some lawn chairs, I asked her to marry me. I get the wide eyed look of surprise and a whispered, but firm, “yes”.  We set the date for May 26, 1984–the Saturday of the USA Memorial Day Holiday weekend.

Cancer stole her before we could get married.  She was 21 years old.

In 1988, I met second love.   Five months after we met, while hiking in the Grand Canyon, I asked if she would marry me.  She, too,  had the wide eyed look of surprise and also said yes. We were married in 1989 and twenty seven years has only intensified the love.

Yet, there is, even now, a place in my heart for my first love.

Leave a Reply

