Running

I used to run a lot.  My fiancee and I were both high school cross country runners.  Back in the early 1980s, we would run 50 to 90 miles per week at a nice relaxing and easy 6 minutes per mile pace.

When she died, I quit running and gained 70 pounds of weight in one year.  Anger, depression and a sudden lack of exercise was the perfect storm for weight gain.  While, over time, I got rid of about 40 pounds of that weight, I still had a bit of a “spare tire” around my waist.

For the past few years, I have been running a little bit, usually about 9-15 miles a week, but over the past few weeks, I’ve increased my mileage to about 40-45 miles a week.  My times are kind of slow–about 8-1/2 to 9 minutes per mile, but at least I’m moving.

And I’m losing weight again.

Even more important to me is my knowing the capabilities of my body.

 

2 thoughts on “Running

Leave a Reply

