The Phone Call, Part 3

I finally found an attorney willing to work with an already existing trust document.  The advice from the other attorneys, “You need to go back to the attorney who set it up” was not possible because that attorney died unexpectedly and did not have a succession plan in place….an odd thing for an estate planning attorney.

I think I’m going to like this attorney.  She is smart and confident without being obnoxious.

The process to assume control of mom’s assets is laid out in the trust and is easy from a implementation standpoint.  Emotionally, following the process is a whole different matter.

By starting and following this process, I’m proclaiming that I no longer believe my 98 year old mom is the strong, smart, intelligent, confident and capable woman that I remember and admired so much.

 

 

Leave a Reply

