CJ5

The “CJ3A” in the name for this comes from my 1950 Jeep CJ3A.

We also have 1964 Jeep CJ5.  I got it when my wife started driving the CJ3A so much that I got her a Jeep of her own.

I demand absolute reliability from my Jeeps and have done (and continue to do) everything I can do to meet this demand.  If we are 10-12 hours, one way, from civilization, breaking down could be a dangerous problem..so I take this seriously.

The fuel tank had been giving me problems. I tried having it repaired, but the repair didn’t work.  So, I got a new fuel tank.  It installed with no difficulties.  The fuel tank “gunk” from the failed repair damaged the fuel pump, so I had to install a new fuel pump.  The only problem was the routing of the fuel lines had to be changed to accommodate the new pump.

I use steel tubing for the fuel lines with double flare fittings and short chunks of “rubber” fuel line to damp vibrations.  To make things fit, I had to bend new steel tubing.  I’ve gotten quite good at bending tubing exactly as needed to make it fit perfectly. But, to install it, I had to remove the radiator hoses, which required draining the cooling system, remove the alternator, remove the oil lines going to the oil filter and also remove the PCV valve.

Part of the reason for keeping things as they were in 1964 (or 1950) is the ease of repair.  This would have easily taken 5 or 6 hours in a newer car.  I was finished with all of the work in about 2-1/2 hours.

Now to test the repairs.  Driving the Jeep to work (45 mile one way) a few times will be good enough.  The Jeep will only do 45mph, but with rush hour speeds barely reaching 35mph, this will not be a problem.

Leave a Reply

