Quandry

I was searching craigslist for cast iron cookware listings and my search had a typo in it.  Instead of just cast iron cookware, I also got boats and a few job listings in my area. Near the top of the list was a job posting for a company that is about 10 miles from where I live.  The job would be doing what I do now; troubleshooting weird SIP call setup issues on IP telephone networks, and the pay is almost exactly what I do now, but I’m not sure if I really want to do this kind of work anymore.

This would certainly be a closer commute, each way being 15 minutes versus 90 minutes, and the high pay would be nice as we could continue to save at our astonishing (according to our bank’s financial adviser) rate, but we already have enough money to retire at age 65.

So the question becomes, do I try for a job that isn’t terribly interesting so I can retire around age 60 or do I try for a job that sounds interesting and delay retiring until almost 65?

I suppose that others would be jealous at my quandary.

Leave a Reply

