Homeward Bound

I’ve been in Maryland for the past two weeks, working as an intermittent federal government employee. Most of my work was inventorying and testing the communications and computer equipment that gets used to coordinate the response to a large scale disaster.

Fortunately disasters don’t happen all that often but that presents a problem with keeping our skills sharp. To take care of this problem, we also get called to support large events put on by the federal government.

On July 4th, I was working in the shadow of the Washington Monument (I really was in the shadow of the monument) with a team of people to ensure that the temporary radio communications networks were operating properly.  Whenever I had a free moment, I would wonder if the signers of the Declaration of Independence had any idea about how the nation that they proudly announced to the world in 1776, would turn out.  I think, for the most part, they would be pleased.

After the July 4th work, we all went back to working in a large warehouse.  Our scheduled time at the warehouse is now done and we are all heading back home.

Tomorrow morning a van will take us to BWI airport.  My wife says that our 17 year old daughter has a countdown app on her phone that is counting down the time until my airline flight lands at the airport.

I’m only gone for a few weeks at a time.  Imagine what it’s like for the military members and their families that are apart for 12-18 months at a time.

Leave a Reply

