I’m back, for the moment.

I’m back from vacation.  My wife, daughter and I spent five days driving to upstate New York, then spent seven days visiting her cousins, aunts, uncles and other relatives and finally spent five days driving home.

The area, near Potsdam, was beautiful.  If New York was easier on one of my hobbies, target shooting with a pistol, I’d consider retiring there.

On the way there and on the way back, we looked at the areas we were driving through with the idea of “should we come back to look around at a later date to see if we would like to retire here”.

So far, our two favorite places were Knoxville, TN and Asheville, NC.  We haven’t yet looked in the northwest US–perhaps next year..so our short list may get slightly longer.

One thing we did wonder about though, is the apparently inexhaustible supply of the orange construction area barrels.  If my wife ever needs an example of “infinity”, this would certainly be it.

baracadesOh, and finally, while driving through Maryland, I got travel orders for for,…wait for it….Maryland….  If I only had my uniforms, etc. with me, we could have spent a few days wandering around Washington, DC.  Instead, we had to drive 3000 miles to get home, so I could, less than two days after I arrive home, fly back to where I had just been.

Oh well.

Leave a Reply

