Awkward

A few days ago I was in an awkward situation. I was in a hardware store and the cashier recognized me from when I was in college.  No, it wasn’t an “old flame”.  In fact it was quite the opposite.  Her husband and I were friends and she and my fiancee were friends.

She saw my wedding ring and began asking about how life was treating us, if we had any children, etc.  A couple of minutes into the conversation I figured out she and I were talking about two different people.

She teared up when I told her my fiancee had died about 18 months after they had moved away and was equally relieved when I told her six years later I had met someone else and was still married.

Leave a Reply

