Crash

I was in a quick 5 minute meeting today when our daughter called. I didn’t have my phone with me and I missed the call. When I noticed the call and was dialing her number, my wife called…..”(daughter’s name) has been in a car crash.  She says she’s OK and the other lady is OK.”

Daughter was deemed at fault and the police issued her a traffic citation for the rear end collision.

Now we need to figure out what to do.

The collision occurred about 1-1/2 miles from home, so we had the car, an early 1990s Volvo, towed to the home.  It’s now in the garage. The car was given to us by a friend and was probably only worth $1000, so it had only liability insurance.  This means it will be up to us to decide to fix it or help my friend salvage parts from it for his car before sending the remains to the wrecking yard.

The body work isn’t too bad, although it will take many trips to the wrecking yard to find all of the needed replacement parts.

The radiator was punctured and the cooling system drained .  It worries me that my daughter isn’t sure if she shut off the engine right away.  If the engine was left running with insufficient coolant, the aluminum cylinder head is likely warped and that is a strong argument against fixing the car.  Replacing a cylinder head isn’t terribly hard to do, but it costs money and at some point it’s cheaper to go get another car.

I’m hoping the engine is OK.  I’ve already told her that if we fix the car, she’s going to be doing a lot of the work.

It’s not punishment, but an opportunity to learn to use tools and gain knowledge about cars.

Leave a Reply

