An Experiment

I had a tomato plant in a huge pot at my mom’s house.  It was a Stupice Tomato, which is an heirloom variety of tomato.  Heirloom means that the seeds will grow into plants that produce more of the same kind of tomatoes…in this case, Stupice tomatoes.

Anyway, I saved one very ripe tomato and last week I smashed/smeared it over a large area of a paper towel so the seeds could dry.  Today I’m going to plant the seeds and see what happens.  The top of the refrigerator is warm, so hopefully that will help.

I put the pot right next to the door, so mom can water the plant, check for worms and gather the tomatoes.  It’s good for her to do something and the tomatoes are good for her.  Last year, when the plant was producing a lot of tomatoes, she was very proud to give some to me.

Like I’ve said earlier, if you asked anyone “really old” to make a list of things they fear the most, being a burden and not being useful (probably two ways of saying the same thing) would be at the top of the list.  Growing some of your own food and giving it to others…..what could be better?

Thank you mom.

Leave a Reply

