High Tech Luddite.

Writing software, building hardware, designing power systems, fly by wire flight control systems design and test, LTE radio link protocols, SIP, winding a transformer, canning, using a slide rule, fixing stuff (shovels to computers), gardening, seed saving, walking a long way, manual typewriters, morse code, hunting and gathering.

Sometimes I feel like I’m a high tech Luddite.

My daily work involves high tech stuff.  I’m an engineer, so that’s not surprising.

My hobbies can be high tech as well.  I’m an engineer, so that’s not surprising.

Many of my hobbies are “the old ways”.  I could go on for quite awhile on how this came to pass, but it’s probably not important.

I stay comfortable with the old ways because it’s interesting, it makes me a more discerning consumer of new high tech ways and it makes me a better engineer.

Leave a Reply

