Changed experiment–success

Just like every other day, I was talking with my 96 year old mom and and I was telling her about my roast plans.  She suggested leaving the lid off of the dutch oven and increasing the oven temperature to 250 degrees.

So, I did.

It took about 3-1/2 hours for the rump roast to reach the 130F degrees internal temperature. It was quite tender but without the pot roast texture and we loved the taste.  The best way to describe the tenderness and texture would be ‘like a medium rare T-Bone steak from the grill’.

I took the juice in the bottom of the dutch oven and made a quick gravy.

So, with mom’s help, the 1980 experiment has finally succeeded.

Leave a Reply

