Vacation, Thanksgiving preparation and an experiment.

I took a few days off from work, today, tomorrow and of course Thanksgiving day and the day after that, plus the weekend.

The Thanksgiving food pre preparations are complete. All that’s left is to tidy up the house a bit (tidy may be a bit of understatement) and I’m done until it’s time to cook.

In the mean time we still have to eat, and I don’t have it in my heart to do any poultry dish, so I’m going to revisit an old experiment that was started 35 years ago–a pot roast that is tender and doesn’t taste, to me, scorched and diluted.  It has always been a variation of a theme–different braising liquids and different spices in the liquid.  This time I’m trying something totally different. Since yesterday morning I’ve been marinating a pot roast in soy sauce, sugar, some lime juice and several cloves of garlic.  Later today I’ll put some of the marinate in the bottom of a dutch oven, put an ill fitting (only fits down halfway) trivet in there so when I put the roast in it, the roast will remain out of the liquid, put the lid on the dutch oven and put the whole thing into a 200F degree oven for however long it takes to cook.  The idea for the marinate in the bottom is to get the environment in the dutch oven moist before the meat gets hot enough to cook.

I have hamburger and hamburger buns available in case things don’t work out.

Breakfast was red potatoes sliced paper thin, dusted with some garlic powder and cooked with chorizo, eggs and onion.

Leave a Reply

