Baked Apple Pancake

Baked Apple Pancake.  That’s what I made this morning for breakfast.  Now our daughter can’t decide between this and Aebleskiver when it comes to her favorite breakfast.

It’s a perfect recipe for a cast iron skillet as it goes from stove top to oven to table top.

I peel, core and (very) thinly slice a couple of Granny Smith apples and while I’m doing that, I’ve got the oven heating up to 400F degrees.

I melt 2-1/2 to 3 tablespoons of butter in the skillet. I use a 12 inch one.  I  then add a teaspoon of cinnamon and 3 (about) tablespoons of brown sugar and mix it all together. I use very low heat so the brown sugar doesn’t scorch.  I then add the apples, turn up the heat a bit–between low and medium–and stir the apples so they are coated.  I do stir the apples a few times while they are cooking.  Remove the skillet from the heat when the apples are soft but not mushy.  Hint…stick the apples with a fork and when you don’t have to push much on the fork to make it through the apples, they’re done.  The time it takes for “soft but not mushy” depends on the thinness of the apple slices..so I can’t really say “how long”.

While the apples are cooking, I put 4 eggs, 1/3 cup of flour, 2/3 cup of milk, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and a tablespoon of brown sugar into a bowl and stir it until it’s smooth.  It will be thin.  That’s OK.

When the apples are done cooking, pour the bowl’s contents into the skillet and slide the skillet into the oven.  It should be done in about 15 minutes.  The pancake’s top will have brown spots, look kind of like an omelet and be really puffed up.

The pancake collapses as it cools down, so serve it right away.

In preparation for Thanksgiving, i’m starting a “super deep clean if it doesn’t move clean it” kind of clean.  This morning it is the cabinet tops and the decorative glassware atop the cabinets.  I’m always afraid to do this as it is all family heirlooms that pre-date the US Civil War.  Dropping it would be a disaster.

I did go out and ride my bike this morning.  Some days my workouts are relaxing and some days…no.  I never know what it will be until I’m about 10 minutes along.  This morning it was a “tongue hanger”, which is one step below a “tongue tripper”.

Leave a Reply

