Tears in a cookbook.

We were sailing in a beautiful sailboat.  The water and weather were wonderful.  Our lives were perfect and all of our dreams had come true.  All our loved ones were with us and we were laughing and enjoying life.

This storm blew up and sank the boat.  It was dark.  There was rain and wind and lightning and sharks were all about.

I’m on a piece of debris and I hear her crying out for help.  I paddle like mad toward her voice and she swims toward me.  I pull her onto the makeshift raft, hold her and try to keep her safe.  But the storm yanks her away.

Each treatment slows us down and saps our energy and the storm gets worse.

I hear her cry for help and I struggle toward her so I can pull her to safety and hold her tight against the storm.  But the storm yanks her away.

She’s crying for help and I struggle toward her to try to pull her to safety.

She is frightened and tired and the sharks have eaten her hair and raked her body.  She can barely swim.  I struggle to pull her to safety again.  But the storm yanks her away.

I am too weak and too tired and I can’t reach her.  I see the sharks. She is gone.

====================

Tonight I was looking for a recipe in an old cookbook and I found the above note folded up in its pages.  It’s from when my fiancee was in hospice..

It’s amazing how a forgotten 31 year old note can be so powerful.

Leave a Reply

