total randomness

Yesterday afternoon I ran 4 miles.  It was 105F/40C and by the time I had finished, I looked like I had crawled out of a lake. 

It felt good and was a nice change from my day job.

My day job, lately, has been looking at the SIP messaging of telephone calls that failed to complete because of system problems and figure out what to do to fix the problem.  I sit in a cubical at a desk, staring at 2 computer monitors for hours at a time. 

Sometimes the job is even interesting.

 

This morning, I put out bird feed and am watching the birds.  Within 10 minutes there were 25-30 birds noisily competing for the food.  It doesn’t take them long to find the free meals.  The birds are common ones–sparrows and finches–but it’s still fun to watch them.

Breakfast is cooking.  Eggs, hash brown potatoes and chorizo.  A glass of milk completes the “chase the barnyard around” breakfast.  I absolutely love chorizo, but what makes things cool is that the skillet I’m using is a still functioning family heirloom.  My mom says her grandmother told her the skillet was a wedding present.  it doesn’t sound like a big deal, I suppose, but mom is in her late 90s. 

Leave a Reply

