Dinner and July 20, 1969

It’s hard to believe it has been 45 years since I watched the fuzzy pictures of people walking around on the moon.  There has been a lot of scientific progress since then, but none as spectacular, nor as fast.  When a nation buys into a dream, amazing (both good and bad) things happen at amazing speeds.

Dinner tonight is going to be a marinated chicken. The marinade looks absolutely disgusting and smells strange, but it adds a wonderful taste to the chicken.   After I finished cooking breakfast, I started “the process”.  I’ve let the chicken soak for as little as 4 hours and as long as a day and a half, so the timing isn’t critical.  And after you read below, you’ll see there are no precise measurements, so I guess nothing is critical about this except for the usual food safety rules.

I fill a blender 1/3 full with orange juice and add:

  • An entire cut up onion
  • Four or five minced cloves of garlic
  • Some hot pepper.  In my case it’s a couple of serrano peppers.
  • The leaves from four or five springs of fresh rosemary.
  • A heaping teaspoon of salt
  • A heaping teaspoon of dried thyme
  • A heaping teaspoon of dried marjoram
  • A hand full of fresh cilantro.

I grind everything up in the blender and pour it into a bowl, add the chicken, add enough additional orange juice to cover the chicken and stir it a couple of times.  By the time I’m done, most of a quart of orange juice has been used.  I then put the bowl with the chicken and marinade in the refrigerator and let it soak until I’m ready to cook.

I have some flower pots in the back yard and I grow the rosemary, peppers and, in the winter, the cilantro.  If you don’t have the fresh stuff, the dried spices in a jar should work.  In keeping with the rest of the list, substituting “heaping teaspoons” of dried spice for the fresh spice would probably be a good place to start.

My mom just called.  She’s 96 years old and lives alone.  She says her refrigerator seems to be struggling (as she put it) to keep things cold.  About the only thing that can do this is condenser coils clogged up with dust (not likely as I regularly clean them) or the condenser fan has quit.  Since the ‘fridge is keeping things cool..merely struggling…I’m guessing the condenser fan..I guess I’ll find out.

Leave a Reply

